top of page
Ken Peterkin-from Ken jpeg.jpg

Rev. Kenneth D. Peterkin, Pastor

Rev. Ken Peterkin served three prior churches and comes to EUCC from The First Congregational Church UCC in Essex, CT, where he served more than 17 years, from July 2004 to November 2021. He navigated that church through replacing a slate roof, installing solar, refurbishing their sanctuary and parlor, moving with them through Open and Affirming and beyond, and is most proud of his accomplishment of turning the hearts and minds of the members from always looking inward at themselves, to caring for the self and becoming the premier church at feeding area people in need throughout the year, not only at holiday times.

He met his wife, Rev. Suzanne Personette at seminary – The Pacific School of Religion in Berkeley, CA. They married in 1995 the night before her graduation. In their first year of marriage Rev. Suzanne was called to serve a church in Indianapolis and Rev. Ken finished his final year at PSR. Rev. Ken was then ordained in 1998. Revs. Ken and Suzanne have a son Abraham (Abe), who expects to graduate from Bryant University in Rhode Island with a degree in Digital Marketing.

Rev. Ken is the chief cook and bottle washer at home and does not apologize for being an alumnus and fan of Ohio State! He does have an open mind however and will enjoy cheering for your team (only not when they play OSU!). Rev. Ken would like to golf more but is occasionally hobbled by some arthritis in his knees and a tricky disc in his back.

“Life is not easy, and my hope is to acknowledge the struggle in everyone to maintain a healthy self-image and healthy habits. To do that I believe God loves everyone the same and wants me and those who I guide to support, affirm, and include all people within God’s realm. This is one of the 'not easy' parts of life – not dismissing or demeaning others. I pray that we at Emmanuel, including myself, will employ a renewed sense of patience and intentional effort to peer into the eyes of every person and remember that we all were once defenseless infants in need of others. Perhaps with such a thought, we can once again see with delight the beauty and tenderness needed by one and all.”

Amy Kwon.jpg

Amy Kwon, Music Director

Amy Keesun Kwon joined the Emmanuel staff in 2023 as Music Director and she is both organist and choir director.

Ms. Kwon has served as music director at numerous churches, including most recently Bethany Korean United Methodist Church in Ellicott City, Md., and Grace Lutheran Church in Westminster. She also serves as the pianist for the Maryland Christian Choir, which performs throughout the region.

Ms. Kwon earned her doctoral degree in Musical Arts from the Catholic University of America, her Bachelor of Music degree from the Peabody Institute of the Johns Hopkins


University and pursued her Master’s of Education from Columbia University in New York.

An accomplished soprano, Ms. Kwon has appeared as a soloist for the Millennium Stage Concert and the Hines-Lee Opera Ensemble at the Kennedy Center. She made her New York debut at Carnegie Hall.

She is an award winner from the Gerda Lissner Foundation and a recipient of the Peabody Career Development Grant.

Among her notable performances, Ms. Kwon was invited to sing for former South Korean President Jae-in Moon during his official 2017 visit to the United States, and at the 21st Annual Holocaust Remembrance Program at Lincoln Theater in Washington, D.C., in 2014.

She recently performed as a soloist for Harford Choral Society and Bach in Baltimore. She has been praised by the Washington Post and lauded by The Washington Times. Ms. Kwon has extensive experience teaching piano, voice and flute students through her music studio with several invited to perform at Carnegie Hall as award winners.

Maria Shea photo.jpg

Maria Shea

Office Administrator


Larry Dubs


Andy Crone_edited.jpg

Andy Crone
Livestream Tech

Interim President--Alec Sivel
Vice President--Vacant


Megan Alcott, Chuck Bauer, Jeff Hopkins, Sean Moore,

Judy Morris, Charlotte Pinette, Sandy Topper, Bill Wertzberger

Ex officio

Treasurer--Brian Frederick

bottom of page